Dyslexic melons

I saw this board on the side of the street a few years ago that said:

“If life gives you melons, you may be dyslexic”

IMG_20150115_123501

It was a sign for some bar in Bath Street I believe, and I flew past it on my bike. I may have stopped to take a picture of it but I have no recollection of it and no sign of a picture on my phone (it was quite a while back), so no chance to illustrate this post with it. As much as it made me laugh then, it is something that has been entering my mind at times this year.

Is there such a thing as being slightly dyslexic? Can you become slightly dyslexic later in life? Or it’s just down to stress and writing too fast, or dehydration, or lack of focus?

My wife suggests that our brains are ruled by a little admin person who searches the brain cabinets in order to find out information that is stored away. That’s why when we go to Spain, her Spanish cabinets are out in the open and the English ones at times become difficult to handle. I have a similar problem. The little person in my brain sometimes cannot picture the word I am going for or what I am trying to say. This is tough when you are writing an important document – and my thesis at times suffers from this.

When I have spent a lot of time in an English speaking country and therefore have shut down the Spanish cabinets, I feel I can communicate fairly well. However, the issues is I have not had my Spanish cabinets shut in a long time. And wait there, I have my Catalan cabinets open at all times since a lot of the reading that I am doing for my PhD is primarily in Catalan. But there is also a lot of information (a lot of complex, theory-heavy information) that I am reading and need to assimilate and form a critical opinion on in English. There is the odd Spanish article. And on occasion, a piece of Russian might come along (just the one sentence at a time, though). So most cabinets are open at all times.

Then of course, I need to use English to communicate on a daily basis. This is not the EAP (English for Academic Purposes) that I tend to use when writing reports (or thinking about my thesis). And I often forget the most common words. I looked at the radiator before and all I could come up on the spot was “thingy” or “one of those”. Really, not cool.

I don’t know if that is enough reason to justify this melonade effect. I often find myself writing emails very fast and then re-reading them and going: “Wait a minute, that is not the word I am looking for”. Simple basic errors in a simple basic task. And there are words that, I suppose by the nature of their order and the setup of the computer keyboard, I always misspell. I always write “from” when I mean “form”. And that is only the tip of the iceberg.

I reckon the fact that I have been completely disconnected for three full weeks cannot really help the fact that I feel really rusty when putting into words what I mean about texts and other monsters. But this was happening before I went on holiday, and now that I am still in the post-holiday blues dip, it’s only getting worse. Oh well.

Maybe I just need to give the little brain admin person a little bit of leeway and be more patient.

Leave a Reply

